Skip to content

mad scientist

With the start of school still some weeks away, I have been busy, well, keeping Milo busy.  We’ve made super fast paper airplanes, played the Will It Dissolve? game, and I’ve finally found some liquid starch for this cool looking rainbow slime, but today’s little experiment has been Milo’s favorite by far.  It’s also incredibly simple  to set up and clean up – so a win for us both.

You’ll Need

  • vinegar
  • baking soda
  • food colouring
  • a medicine dropper
  • some kind of tray or baking dish to contain the mess

Method

  1. Fill up mini mugs or glasses { those GÜ containers work a treat } with vinegar and a few drops of food colouring.
  2. Scatter the bottom of your dish with baking soda.
  3. Show your child how to use a medicine dropper and then watch them go to town.

Why It Works

Baking soda is sodium bicarbonate (NaHCO3), a weak base, and vinegar contains acetic acid (HC2H3O2), a weak acid. When mixed, the two react in an acid-base neutralization reaction. One of the products is carbon dioxide gas (CO2), which causes the bubbling.

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ooooh, I’m so doing this with James!

    Also, I’m incredibly happy you’ve opened up your blog again. I have a hard time remembering to visit sites that don’t pop up in my reader and I was constantly saying ‘Go to Abby’s blog tonight” to myself.

    I miss you. xx

    August 21, 2012
  2. Hiya!

    James will love this one!

    I miss you too! x

    August 21, 2012
  3. Jeanne #

    SO SO pleased to see you back in my reader!!! I can’t believe how big Milo is getting. He is gorgeous! Looking forward to more fun things to try with Theo. I’m sure he will love doing this project. xxx

    August 21, 2012
  4. Hi Jeanne!

    Thank you for the lovely comment and have fun with this one!

    A x

    August 21, 2012
  5. Love this! I’m so going to try this with Eva!

    August 31, 2012
  6. Have fun Amber! x

    August 31, 2012

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers