Skip to content

finale

Today I hung out with Robert Pattinson.

And by hung out, I mean met.

And by met, I mean stood behind and tried not to barf all over his shoes.

I should probably back up a little bit.

Sunday morning we took the train down to London in preparation for Matt’s final face to face interview at the American Embassy.  To say I was nervous would be a gross understatement as I cannot recall ever feeling so sick about anything in my entire life.  I’ve even lost sleep over it, staying up until the wee hours of the morning mentally going over our case piece by piece, and that is really saying something as I don’t think I’ve ever lost a nights sleep over anything.

Which brings me back to Mr. Pattinson.

Everything I’d read online about the interview process stressed how important it was to get to the Embassy early, and so even though our appointment was scheduled for 9 am, we stepped into line at 7:20.  Right behind one Cedric Diggory and his entourage.  It took a frantic game of silent hand charades for Matt to point him out to me, even though I’d already asked him a question.  Perhaps that speaks most clearly to where my head was at in that moment, as the only thing I really wondered about, after I finally recognized him, was what kind of visa he was after and if he’d filled everything out properly.

Oh!  I almost forgot the most important thing!  Matt’s visa was APPROVED!

USA here we come!

18 Comments Post a comment
  1. That is so, so funny! We were in line with several celebrities when we got Lee’s visa as well, although they weren’t as big as him :) And congrats on the visa!

    November 19, 2012
  2. Kat #

    Hooray!

    November 19, 2012
  3. Mom and Dad #

    We are so very happy! What a relief this must be for you and Matt. Now, you can concentrate on the actual MOVE. By the way, I emailed family and friends already.

    November 20, 2012
  4. Congratulations!! How wonderful it must feel to have the whole process done and behind you. Best of luck to you in the next chapter of your journey back to the U.S. And I love that you didn’t realize who you were talking to!!

    November 20, 2012
  5. Thanks everyone! x

    November 20, 2012
  6. Caitlin #

    Amazzzzzing on so many levels! When I got your email about Rob, I told everyone in my office. Glad you got the visa! Can’t believe it is all really happening! Xx

    November 20, 2012
  7. Haha! Oh Cait you do make me laugh. You were the first person I thought to tell afterwards too :)

    November 20, 2012
  8. Lizzie #

    Congrats on the visa! YAY! When is the big move date?

    Also, who was he with? Who is part of his entourage?? Why aren’t I part of his entourage? And what did you ask him?

    November 20, 2012
  9. Thanks Lizzie! We move in January – eek! He was with an older man and woman ( mum and dad? ) and another guy about his age. I asked him something completely scandalous – are you ready – Is this the visa line? :)

    November 20, 2012
  10. dealon #

    That’s so funny. I am horrible at recognizing celebrities out of context. When I lived in NYC, my friends were constantly spotting famous people on the street, and I never did.

    Congrats on the visa! I hope the rest of your move goes smoothly!

    November 20, 2012
  11. Ha Ha. Yay for you and Cedric Diggory. What a tale, very funny. Congrats on the visa. You’re leaving blighty?? Best wishes.

    November 20, 2012
  12. Congrats! You must be so relieved all the paperwork is over and now you can concentrate on the fun of the holidays before the big move. Hope you at least got to enjoy London while you were at it. xx

    November 20, 2012
  13. Larns #

    How exciting for you all!

    November 21, 2012
  14. Anonymous #

    Congratulations! xo

    November 22, 2012
  15. Thanks again, all! x

    November 30, 2012
  16. Anonymous #

    Sorry I’m late Abby – I heard the big news from your mom and dad right away and I’m so excited I can’t hardly stand it, but I thought I better make an official comment on here: Congratulations and I can’t wait to say, “Welcome Home!”

    December 1, 2012
  17. Thanks so much! x

    December 1, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. How to celebrate Thanksgiving in England « How to Play House

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers