Skip to content

MIA

Well, we’ve been back in the US for about 7 weeks now and I’m afraid that my blog has taken a back seat to, well, just about everything. I did want to hop on quite quickly this evening to post a bit of an update, so here goes!

The Good

  • It’s been so lovely to live around friends and family again. We’ve been having weekly dinners at my parents house and it’s been such a joy to watch Milo play with his cousins.
  • Matt found a job! Whoop! He’s just about to finish his first week of work and he’s really enjoying it.
  • Milo’s been enrolled in a great school, and after a few grumpy weeks, I think he’s starting to come around.
  • Target. And Mexican food. And cheap, fancy cosmetics. Enough said, really.
  • I love our new flat. We’re just about done decorating Milo’s room, so pictures of that will be up soon. Ish. And there will be lots more to follow.

The Bad

  • When we left England, we boxed up some of our stuff and shipped it over, snail mail style. Every single box made it over in one piece, bar the box where I had stupidly packed every single one of our important documents. I’m talking about birth certificates, marriage certificates, our social security cards, etc. And so now we’re having to reapply for everything, minus our passports, from overseas and it’s a bit of a pain. Sorted! So sorry I doubted you Royal Mail!
  • I feel like we are living in our car. I got so used to walking everywhere in England, that having to drive absolutely everywhere has come as a bit of a shock to the system.
  • Eating organically is really, almost prohibitively, expensive here. I would love to hear any tips from my fellow Americans on how you’re able to do it.

p.s. If I know you in real life, I probably owe you an email. I really am so sorry! My regular email account was hacked last week, so it’s really no longer useable (bunch of bastards) so right now Facebook is probably the easiest way to stay in touch.

p.p.s Although I have not been maintaining my blog, I have been using instagram, so check me out over there!

14 Comments Post a comment
  1. Kim #

    We shop a lot at Trader Joe’s as I find their organic items cheaper than most (especially produce). You could also look into a CSA. Not sure how many of those are organic or just local.

    March 14, 2013
  2. Thankfully we do have a Trader Joe’s, it’s just not very near to where we live. I do love it there though! I really need to look into CSA’s, thanks for the reminder! x

    March 14, 2013
  3. Glad your back and good to hear things are going well! I can appreciate your love of Target and Mexican as a Canadian who travels south several times a year just for those two things! Hopefully your paperwork will arrive soon. Looking forward to hearing more about your new life.

    March 14, 2013
  4. Thanks Jen! x

    March 14, 2013
  5. Welcome back!

    March 14, 2013
  6. Thank you Lisa! x

    March 14, 2013
  7. Good luck on the transition! It hurt a little the Good #4! We have another year and a half to go for that goodness. Also, your insta-photos are beautiful! Following now..

    March 14, 2013
  8. Ly #

    Target!! So jealous. Every time I come back home, I stroll the aisles for hours and walk away spending ridiculous money on things I don’t need :)

    March 14, 2013
  9. dealon #

    Eating organic is very expensive. Matt and I joined a CSA last summer, which was both local and organic, and I loved it for various reasons, but I wouldn’t say it was less expensive than the grocery store. We also had to pay a large lump sum upfront, rather than being able to pay smaller amounts over several months, so that could be prohibitive, depending on how much cash you keep on-hand. This website can help you find CSAs (and other sources of local organic foods) in your area: http://www.localharvest.org/

    Trader Joe’s produce does seem to be cheaper than the regular grocery stores, so I would start there, and hit up local farmers markets when they’re open.

    March 14, 2013
  10. Annie – Thanks, your pictures are gorgeous and I’m following you too! x

    Ly – I know, strolling around Target has become one of my favorite hobbies! x

    Dealon – Thanks for the tips, I’ll check out that website now! x

    March 14, 2013
  11. Congrats to Matt for finding a job! Glad all is going well and can’t wait to hear more about your new adventures. xx

    March 17, 2013
  12. Thanks Jessica! x

    March 17, 2013
  13. Holly #

    I’m just catching up now but hope everything is going well with your transition to the US. Congrats to Matt on finding a job! x

    April 29, 2013
  14. Thanks Holly! x

    April 30, 2013

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers